by Daisy Dao
Rice noodles and other Asian noodles are only made with flour and water. Rice flour is gotten from rice which is a plant so yeah, rice noodles are considered vegan. However, there are other types of noodles that aren’t considered vegan because they contain animal products such as eggs. If you’re vegan, you should find out what ingredients are used to make up the noodles before consuming them. This applies especially to ready-to-eat dishes that are prepared in restaurants. When you go shopping for packaged noodles, check the ingredient list first.
It quite hard to adhere to a strictly vegan diet especially because today there are so many processed foods with lots of additives. You might be strictly avoiding all items that are gotten from animals such as eggs and meat but could be accidentally consuming products whose ingredients are secretly non-vegan. Some common ingredients that you might think are vegan but aren’t and shouldn’t be used in your recipes include:
Pasta noodles of all types have eggs as a major ingredient. Instead, you should work with elbow noodles, fettuccine, and whole-wheat spaghetti.
Wine fining agents may include albumin, casein, gelatin, and isinglass. Somehow, it’s highly likely that traces of these products may end up in the wine. However, some wine manufacturers are now using activated charcoal and bentonite which are vegan wine fining agents.
Always check the wine labels for a vegan demarcation
As surprising as this may seem, not all sugar is okay to be consumed by vegans. Most of the white sugar you see gets filtered via animal bones that have been charred to bleach it. Although some manufacturers are now using granular carbon, one can’t be 100% sure.
Brown sugar is out for vegans as well as it’s formed when molasses are added to regular white sugar. If you are strict about your diet, you shouldn’t use sugar when cooking. Some alternatives that you may use include granulated sugar because it isn’t processed using bone char.
Other non-vegan ingredients that you should avoid if you’re a strict vegan include:
You should also be careful with foods that contain coloring. A lot of dyes are derived from crushed insects.
Ketchup is a universally loved tomato-based sauce that seems to be everywhere from packets at fast-food restaurants to people’s homes. It’s loved and eaten around the world and most dishes cannot be considered complete without dressing them up with mountains of ketchup. But if you’re vegan can you still enjoy this sweet and tangy tomato goodness with your rice noodles?
Just because ketchup is a tomato-based sauce, we still can’t decide conclusively whether it’s vegan or not. Let’s have a look at the basic ingredients found in ketchup:
As you can see, there’s no animal-based ingredient mentioned above so yes. Ketchup is vegan and you can use it in your recipes.
A lot of people love rice noodles for their short cook time. If you’re vegan, you can still make healthy and flavorful dishes using rice noodles. Here are two vegan recipes that you can prepare quickly and easily:
This is one dish that’s easy to make and you’re going to love all the veggies and flavors in it. The sauce isn’t too spicy but it does have a little kick.
Some of the ingredients you’ll need include:
It’s very easy to make rice noodles into a warm homey meal. You can either break the noodles into pieces or leave them as long threads.
Some of the ingredients you’ll need include:
Some other vegetables that you may throw into the stir fry along with or in place of the broccoli are chopped carrots, sliced mushrooms, or yellow squash
As you can see, rice noodles are adaptable and easy to make into delicious vegan dishes fast. All you need is a big bowl of noodles, a couple of veggies of your choice, herbs, lots of sauce, a fork, a hungry tummy, and your eyes will show huge heart-eye emojis from the goodness and satisfaction.
This just goes on to prove to you that you can eat anything in this life in a fun way.
About Daisy Dao
Daisy grew up on the beautiful Honolulu island where she often found herself spending the day enjoying ocean scent in sea waves. As such, Daisy came to appreciate the art of cooking seafood. She has experiemented Baking, Roasting, Broiling, Poaching, Grilling, anything you can think of to mess around with food preparation from the sea; and with all kinds of spices too. Now, she'd like to present her experience of what matters most about the art of cooking, healthy lifestyle, food product recommendation.